Faculty and Staff Recognized at Spring College-Wide Conference

Several faculty members and staff were honored at this year’s spring college-wide conference, held remotely due to the COVID-19 pandemic. College of Engineering Dean Amy S. Fleischer announced the awards during the Zoom gathering.

Those recognized included:

CENG Diversity and Inclusion Awards

Bridget Benson, EE and CPE
Zoë Wood, CSSE

MEP and SWE Most Supportive Professor and Staff Awards

MEP Winners:

Amro El Badawy

Sarah Harding

Nicole Johnson-Glauch

Aaron Keen

Clay McKell

Nicholas Sakellariou

Dawn Sirois

SWE Nominees:

• Karen Bangs

• Arnold Deffo

• Alessandro Hill

 • Irene Humer

• Lily Laiho

 • Daniel Jansen

 • Cole Saucier

• Tina Smilkstein • Chris Sui

 • Ignatios Vakalis

• Michael Whitt

 • Winner: Ignatios Vakalis.

Outstanding Staff Award

Donna Aiken, CPE

Don and Paula Heye Award for Outstanding Club Advisement

Jane Lehr, Engineers Without Borders

Don and Paula Heye Award for Outstanding Teaching

Reza Pouraghabagher, IME

CENG Don & Paula Heye Annual Faculty/Staff Safety Award

Eric Beaton

Northrop Grumman Excellence in Teaching Early Career Award

Lauren Cooper, ME

Raytheon Excellence in Teaching and Applied Research Award


Engineering Student Council Annual Outstanding Faculty and Staff Awards

Outstanding Faculty in CENG:

Kristen Cardinal

John Chen

Hans Mayer

Outstanding Faculty in COSAM:

Paul Choboter

Katherina Gillen

Anthony Mendes

Outstanding Club Advisor:

Helene Finger

Outstanding Staff:

David Laiho

The Cal Poly College of Engineering understands there has been an enormous amount of turmoil and transition due to Coronavirus (COVID-19). As we continue offering support to our students, faculty, staff, alumni and friends, we also continue providing critical updates as well as college highlights. Ours is a college full of creative and bright engineers and staff. For more information on COVID-19 visit the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) website. For more information on how Cal Poly is responding to COVID-19, visit the Cal Poly Coronavirus website Coronavirus website.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin