Summer 2020 Scholarship Academy

Two individuals sitting at a desk discussing resume/professional development
Student and staff member chatting outdoors on campus
Alumni walking with student on campus and networking

The entire campus community is invited to attend. These workshops will be of particular value to “new-ish” faculty who are currently establishing their scholarship at Cal Poly. More details will be updated on this page soon. See Scholarship Academy flyer (PDF) for complete workshop schedule.

Workshop Schedule and Resources

SCHOLARSHIP AT CAL POLY
Monday, July 13

Session I — 10:30 AM – 12:00 PM

  • RED Intro/Organization

Session II — 12:30 PM-2:00 PM

  • Snapshot of Scholarship at Cal Poly

Roundtable — 2:15 PM-3:15 PM

  • RED Q&A

Recording:

Workshop Materials:

Amy Velasco
Associate Vice President for Research Administration
(805) 756-2982
aevelasc@calpoly.edu

Todd Hagobian
Interim Associate Vice President of Research
(805) 756-7511
thagobia@calpoly.edu

Jane L. Lehr
Director of the Office of Student Research
(805) 756-6442
jlehr@calpoly.edu
studentresearch@calpoly.edu

Bob Crockett
Associate Dean for Innovation Infrastructure
College of Engineering
(805) 756-2131
rcrocket@calpoly.edu

Jim Prince
Associate Dean, Research and Graduate Programs
College of Agriculture, Food, and Environmental Sciences
(805)756-2161
jpprince@calpoly.edu

Derek Gragson
Associate Dean
College of Science and Math
(805)756-7154
dgragson@calpoly.edu

GRANT WRITING & GDO
Monday, July 20

Session I — 10:30 AM – 12:00 PM

  • Contract Types
  • Industry Sponsored Research

Session II — 12:30 PM-2:00 PM

  • Proposal Preparation and Review

Roundtable — 2:15 PM-3:15 PM

  • Strategies and Experiences
  • GDO Q&A

Amy Velasco
Associate Vice President for Research Administration
(805) 756-2982
aevelasc@calpoly.edu

Jim Dunning
Associate Vice President, Corporate Engagement & Innovation
(805) 756-5551
jdunning@calpoly.edu

Sue Tonik
Grants Analyst
(805) 756-7241
stonik@calpoly.edu

CONTRACTS & SPO
Monday, July 27

Session I — 9:30 AM – 12:00 PM

  • Grant Administration
  • Regulatory Compliance

Session II — 12:30 PM-2:00 PM

  • Role of PI; Budget and Hiring

Roundtable — 2:15 PM-3:15 PM

  • SPO Q&A

Trish Brock, CPRA
Interim Director of Research Compliance
(805) 756-1450
pbrock@calpoly.edu
hs-irb@calpoly.edu
exportcompliance@calpoly.edu

Jodi Block
Sponsored Programs Director
(805) 756-5139
jblock@calpoly.edu
spongprog@calpoly.edu

Sue Tonik
Grants Analyst
(805) 756-7241
stonik@calpoly.edu

Tyler Alvord
Grants Analyst
College of Engineering
(805)-756-1449
talvord@calpoly.edu

Andrew Brown
Administrative Analyst
(805) 756-1645
ajbrown@calpoly.edu

Julie Fallon
Grants Analyst
College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences  – except Bio-Resource & Agricultural Engineering and ITRC; College of Architecture & Environmental Design
(805) 756-1740
jfallon@calpoly.edu

Susanne Gartner
Grants Analyst
Bio-Resource & Agricultural Engineering and ITRC; College of Liberal Arts; Orfalea College of Business; Physics; Student Affairs
(805) 756-6271
sgartner@calpoly.edu

Corrin Terrones
Grants Analyst
Academic Affairs; Administration and Finance; College of Science and Mathematics except Physics;​​​ Office of the President; Office of Research & Economic Development
(805)756-1248
coterron@calpoly.edu

Simón Lowrie
Contracts Analyst
(805)756-1772
slowrie@calpoly.edu

Darci Hafley
Contracts Analyst
(805)756-5978
dhafley@calpoly.edu

SCHOLARSHIP & MENTORING
Monday, August 3

Session I — 10:30 AM – 12:00 PM

  • Research Group Case Studies

Session II — 12:30 PM-2:00 PM

  • Research Mentoring; Undergraduate and Graduate

Roundtable — 2:15 PM-3:15 PM

  • Workload balance

Elizabeth Lowham
Interim Dean of Graduate Education
(805) 756-6519
elowham@calpoly.edu

Jane L. Lehr
Director of the Office of Student Research
(805) 756-6442
jlehr@calpoly.edu
studentresearch@calpoly.edu

RESOURCES
Monday, August 10

Session I — 10:30 AM – 12:30 PM

  • Hanover; CSU, CP
  • Funding Opportunities

Session II — 12:30 PM-2:00 PM

  • Cross-College Partnership Opportunities

Roundtable — 2:15 PM-3:15 PM

  • College-Specific (CENG CAFES and CSM) Facilities and Funding Opportunities
Recording:  Workshop Materials:

Todd Hagobian
Interim Associate Vice President of Research
(805) 756-7511
thagobia@calpoly.edu

Jane L. Lehr
Director of the Office of Student Research
(805) 756-6442
jlehr@calpoly.edu
studentresearch@calpoly.edu

Diana Winslow, PhD
Writing Instruction Specialist
(805) 756-7526
diwinslo@calpoly.edu

Catherine Trujillo
Exhibits and Campus Art Curator
(805) 756-6395
ctrujill@calpoly.edu

The Scholarship Academy workshop series is presented by the College of Engineering in collaboration with the Division of Research and Economic Development.

Coronavirus Update and Resources